Charles Dickens, “The Mudfog Papers”


A dystopian world in the stories that inspired Westworld


In 1838 Dickens had already imagined a theme park where you can vent the most violent instincts, thanks to anthropomorphic robots . . .

The Mudfog Papers is a collection of sketches by Dickens published in Bentley’s Miscellany between 1837 and 1838 and describes the local politics of the fictional town of Mudfog – such as the delusions of grandeur of its mayor Nicholas Tulrumble and his disastrous attempts at putting on a public show – and the meetings of its Society for the Advancement of Everything, during which the town is overrun by illustrious scientists and professors conducting ostensibly pointless research.

Written at the same time as Oliver Twist – indeed the serialized version of the novel referred to Mudfog as the protagonist’s home town – The Mudfog Papers lampoons all manner of journalistic and scientific writing of the time and showcases the young Dickens at his satirical best.


Charles Dickens (1812-1870), a literary phenomenon in his lifetime and renowned as much for his journalism and public speaking as for his novels, now ranks as the most important Victorian writer and one of the most influential and popular authors in the English language. His memorable and vividly rendered characters and his combination of humour, trenchant satire and compassion have left an indelible mark on our collective imagination.



A paperback and e-book series published by Intra.

Global readability, Italian charm.


  • Publisher: Intra S.r.l.s. (July 6, 2021)
  • Language: English
  • Paperback: 114 pages
  • ISBN-13: 979-1259911032
  • Weight: 6.4 ounces
  • Dimensions: 5 x 0.29 x 8 inches
  • Price: (INT) $ 9.99 (paperback), 3,99 (ebook Amazon) – (IT) € 9,99 (paperback), € 3,99 (ebook Amazon), 2,99 (ebook Intra)

ALSO AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.COM (paperback and ebook) AND ON AMAZON.IT (paperback and ebook)


Edizioni Intra

Intra Libri & ebook, tra Innovazione e Tradizione - Global readability, Italian charm.


English or multilingual edition Series: